PDA

View Full Version : Hi there

Peri
07-21-2012, 05:49 PM
Hi everyone!

I am very excited to find this site and have been eagerly reading through all of the different forums. I don’t see many women posting but that is ok – I still like the site ;). I am pretty new to bowling but am as hooked on it as one can get! I started going to the bowling alley in January with my husband and son when they were practicing for their league night.

My husband bought me a Pyramid Path 8lb ball and soon I was getting better (my first game I bowled a whopping 39). My son decided that the 8lb ball was now to light and he got me a 10lb Slingshot for Mother’s Day. He then decided that I needed a 12lb ball and got me a used Brunswick Galaxy 300 - a good $20 spent.

I have been doing pretty good with this ball and joined a “No Tap” league with my husband and son. I am so happy. Last night I bowled a 225 (this is No Tap) and the guy at the desk announced that not only did I have high game with a 225 but that I beat my husband and hot shot son!

Since this is a really rare occurrence I was pretty happy. Now they want me to join them in the regular winter league. I am still not sure that I am good enough for a regular league but everyone who bowls league is really nice and they keep encouraging me to join.

I am thinking of replacing the good old Galaxy with a new ball. At the moment I am kind of more into color and love hot pink (the Pyramid and Slingshot have great hot pink colors) – everyone laughs at that including myself. However, as I am becoming more knowledgeable color is not so important. Right now I have a short list of 14 different balls that I like. I will be getting a new one come September so I spend a lot of time online reading about them and watching videos. I will post in the appropriate forum for advice when I am closer to purchase. The pro at the bowling alley is really a nice guy and says that I bowl so slow that most balls will react pretty much the same for me.