PDA

View Full Version : Bad footwork, bad slide, bad balance.

RoccoRock
07-23-2012, 08:29 AM
Ok, so I watched a lot of video of myself bowling over the last few days. I must say, a lot of what I'm doing, either two handed or one handed looks good. The one issue I have seems to be my feet. I have terrible footwork, my right foot stays parrallel to the foul line the whole time. It looks like I have a bad slide, and hence, bad balance at the foul line. Maybe bad timing as well, as it seems like I am releasing the ball while still sliding. Any tips, or drills I can use to improve my footwork and slide? I have good shoes, with interchangable sliding soles. I tried ones with less slide at times but that just made my balance worse. I work in a warehouse, by myself, and I can set up a little practice lane. I take an old cracked ball and throw it a few times to work on things. I can't slide in the warehouse, I just take a big step. i watched video from that, and everything looks so solid. Great balance, great armswing, great release. I almost what to work on taking the slide out of my game at the bowling alley, just bowl in sneakers. This weekend I was home, in my socks on the linolium floor working on my slide. I thinking it's more that my push off isn't very good. I'll hit the lanes at lunch today and work on just that.

J Anderson
07-23-2012, 09:27 AM
I'm trying to get my head around how you can walk towards the foul line with your right foot parallel to it. I think you'll have to post some video so we can see what you're doing. Maybe now that I have some video of myself I can post it and you can have a good laugh at my style or lack there of.

striker12
07-23-2012, 09:35 AM