PDA

View Full Version : What was your first real league?

Tokes
08-09-2012, 05:54 AM
Hey I'm new to bowling have been in a couple of leagues for bowling balls, shoes and bag, and a lunch n bowl. A bunch of the bowlers have been telling me for a little bit now that I should join a real league. So I signed up for a 39 week handicapped league that ends with a trip to vegas and I hope I do ok.

So on with the theme of this thread what was your first league? And on a lesser note how did you feel you were ready for a league?

J Anderson
08-09-2012, 11:09 AM
Hey I'm new to bowling have been in a couple of leagues for bowling balls, shoes and bag, and a lunch n bowl. A bunch of the bowlers have been telling me for a little bit now that I should join a real league. So I signed up for a 39 week handicapped league that ends with a trip to vegas and I hope I do ok.

So on with the theme of this thread what was your first league? And on a lesser note how did you feel you were ready for a league?

A league is a league, doesn't matter whether your team is a bunch of kids just learning how to get the ball down the lane in a Saturday morning youth league, some 200+ average guys going after a big chunk of a five figure prize fund on a weekday evening, or a seniors bowling for free coffee and an excuse to get out of the house on a weekday morning. As long as there are multiple teams and someone is keeping track of wins and losses it is a league.

Now to your questions: Norwalk Church league. I don't even remember if I felt that I was ready, this was 1975, my Dad's team was losing a player for two months. At the time it was an adult men only league, minimum age 16. I had never bowled before and Dad took me to the alley to try a couple of games the Saturday before I started in league.

Hampe
08-09-2012, 11:16 AM