PDA

View Full Version : Regarding Surface (and other) Adjustments for Specific Lane Conditions

CeKnauss
09-13-2012, 12:37 PM
Good Morning bowlers!

I have been bowling for about 2 years now and have learned quite a bit in that time, however one thing has thus far eluded me:

When faced with certain lane conditions, I have not learned a quick and easy method for adjusting the surface of my bowling ball(s).

Here is a short back story.
In the alley where I began bowling, conditions were really dry almost all the time. I used 4000 + polish. Problem solved.
In some small tournaments and at another alley I began to bowl at, lane conditions were really slick. I used a mid-ranged ball with 1500. Things are going well.

Now, I am bowling league in a house where I get too much back-end, even with my urethane (Avalanche). As most of my equipment is pearl, I understand this is part of the problem as it goes long and snaps hard. However, I tried one of my solids and had a similar reaction.

So what's the question exactly?

**Given the following information, what surface changes, if any, or speed/style adjustments would you recommend?**
Lane Surface: Medium friction Synthetic
Oil: Slick, and roughly 38-40ft long (The mechanic couldn't tell me the pattern exactly...)
Current Reaction: Free friction to the right, too much snap at the end of the pattern and from the right. (I leave the 3-6-10 too often...)
Desired Reaction: Earlier mid-lane read, less immediate change of direction at the breakpoint.

If, for whatever reason, it makes a big difference what brand of bowling balls I use, it's Brunswick. I have a variety of equipment (all 15lbs) including:
C-(System) AlphaMax, C-(System) 3.5, Twisted Fury Solid, Evil Siege, Wild Ride, Revolver, Python, Sidewinder, Avalanche Urethane, T-zone