PDA

View Full Version : drawing oil out of your ball

maximumslinky
10-19-2012, 11:10 AM
im fairly new to all of this. this is only my 3rd year bowling leagues and i bowl twice a week. i asked my brother about getting oil out of your ball. he told me he just takes a small cardboard box and cut a hole in it to fit a hair dryer. he puts his ball in the box and turns the hair dryer on and comes to check on it and wipe the oil off ever 5-10 minutes. does anyone do something similar to this?

MICHAEL
10-19-2012, 11:32 AM
WARNING Fire Hazard!! WARNING!!

75lockwood
10-19-2012, 01:27 PM
WARNING Fire Hazard!! WARNING!!

Michael is right, high heat + cardboard isn't a good combo a easier and much safer way to draw the oil out of the ball would be to fill a tub/large bucket with hot but not boiling water and a degreasing soap and give the ball a rub, don't let the water get to hot, you can risk damaging the ball. the say would go for the hairdryer, that much focused heat could be bad.

got_a_300
10-19-2012, 01:42 PM
I use a ball ring to set the ball on and then I use a really
small portable electric heater set to low heat and I just
keep the ball sprayed with ball cleaner and keep it wiped
down and rotated every few minutes until there is no oil
coming out of the ball any longer.

Zothen
10-19-2012, 01:44 PM
If you want to get oil out,take it to your pro shop and they will properly extract the oil from the ball.

Zothen

Greenday
10-19-2012, 02:02 PM
If you want to get oil out,take it to your pro shop and they will properly extract the oil from the ball.

Zothen

I kind of have to agree with this. They have tools to properly heat the ball safely without damaging the ball and will extract all oil from the ball. Soaking your ball in water just doesn't seem like the best idea, nor does concentrated heat.

75lockwood
10-19-2012, 02:05 PM