View Full Version : IQ TOUR PEARL review by Storm staffer Jeff Richgels

Riggs
12-13-2012, 01:16 PM
The IQ TOUR PEARL ball details are here:

http://www.stormbowling.com/products/balls/iqtourpearl

Picture of my IQ TOUR PEARL in my blog here:

http://www.11thframe.com/page/reviews_id_9
DRILLED Nov. 17, 2012

The drilling is the same as the VIRTUAL GRAVITY NANO I’ve been using since early 2011 — the ball I used the last 2 games of team event at 2011 USBC OC. It measures out at 4.5 Pin to PAP x 4 “mb” (it’s a symmetrical ball) to PAP x 3 3/8 pin buffer. The pin is above the ring finger and the drilling angle is about 60 degrees. There is a weight hole at P1 just to get it back to static legal. (Picture at end of my blog.)

I have found over the years that solid and pearl coverstocks rapped around the same core often perform completely differently for me, with one being great and the other just not working.

Such appears to be the case with the IQ TOUR and IQ TOUR PEARL.

If you read my updated review of the IQ TOUR at http://www.11thframe.com/page/reviews_id_6 I simply could not find a way to use it successfully, even with multiple coverstock surface changes and two drillings. This despite the fact that so many have raved about the ball, notably Bowling This Month magazine.

My issue with the IQ TOUR is that it either went too quick for me and quit, leading to plaque 10s, or when I then got more left and into the oil (if it was there), it didn’t slow down enough and left solid 9s, ring 10s and 4-pins.

Of course, I joked when I ordered the IQ TOUR PEARL that I probably would love it … and that looks like it might be the case - at least on a house shot. (Read down for where it might not be the best choice.)

In fact, I would say from what I have experienced and seen that the IQ TOUR PEARL may be one of the greatest house shot balls ever.