PDA

View Full Version : What's your practice routine?

SouthpawTRK
12-27-2012, 12:43 AM
So, I've been bowling for almost two months and been having a blast doing so:)

One thing (among many) that eludes me is a solid practice routine. I'd like to make the most of my time practicing so to better my technique and increase my average.

I was curious to know what is your practice routine? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated (the more descriptive the better).

Thanks in advance:)

Greenday
12-27-2012, 10:24 AM
Get up and throw a strike ball. Was it a strike? Good, throw another one. Did I leave pins? Oh well, reset the pins, throw another strike ball. Repeat for five or six games.

My main problem is stringing together strikes. So I practice my strike ball. It's a lot of trying to repeat the same motion over and over. Once I can get it a bunch of times in a row, I know I've gotten whatever new technique I'm working on down.

Cochese
12-27-2012, 10:59 AM
I usually try to focus on one specific thing for a whole game, then work on something else next game. So first game I will concentrate on releasing low and close to me ankle. Maybe next game focus on footwork, next game work on wrist position. I might end up working on just one thing the whole session.

One thing I have been working on a lot is trying to take a break between frames. Maybe throw two frames, then relax for a minute. I have found that slow league play really throws off my timing versus practice when I can just get up and throw at my own pace. Much easier for me to string strikes together just throwing one after another compared to throwing one, waiting a few minutes and throwing again.

J Anderson
12-27-2012, 11:13 AM