PDA

View Full Version : How do leagues usually set an average for a new bowler?

Aslan
08-27-2013, 04:58 PM
I'm planning on joining my first league in late September and I was wondering how averages are usually calculated. I always thought they were based on a bowler's average from the previous league. But what if this is your first league? And I read somewhere that everyone's average gets calculated based on their first league series.

I'm just curious. And I'm kinda disappointed...because I've been keeping track of my average for like 18 years...just recreational bowling...and it was like 120-121. But since I've gotten my new ball and got some instruction and have been practicing...suddenly I'm rolling 42-54 pins higher. I'm kinda scared that on that first week...where my average gets set...I bowl a personal best 572 series and suddenly I gotta roll in the 190s every week just not to be a detriment to my team.

Thanks!

e-tank
08-27-2013, 05:12 PM
first 3 games in league for the leagues ive been in.

vdubtx
08-27-2013, 06:50 PM
Leagues I have been in it was the 1st 3 games bowled also for new bowlers. Really the only way to do it.

Aslan
08-27-2013, 07:02 PM
So I imagine the teams that get slammed that first week, tend to do quite well in Week 2?? Lots of 1-1 records after week 2 I imagine.

But just so I'm clear...and I know this is a total newb question...but the average does go up and down throughout the season right? I mean, if I bowl a 740 series week 1...the a 440 series week 2...my average going into week 3 is 197 not 247 right? Granted...I might choose the 740 just to say I did it...but man thats gonna suck for the rest of the season to live up to the absolute best series of your life.

For bowlers that have played there in the recent past, wouldn't it be more accurate to use their average from the previous season as their starting average?

vdubtx
08-27-2013, 07:19 PM