PDA

View Full Version : What causes Ball Spin? (top spin)

the_grimace
12-30-2013, 01:39 PM
I'm talking about the kind of spin you typically don't want. You see it referred to as "top spin" or "helicopter spin". I've been bowling for about 14 years now, since I was 12, and average about 195-200 in League. Sadly I've been stuck at that 195 average for YEARS, like 10 or so! Being self taught is just the start of my problems, but one of my big problems is that I notice many of my shots I end up spinning the ball instead of properly turning it. In short my release is all over the place. One shot I turn it well, get a perfect strike. Next shot I turn TOO much somehow, it goes high, next few shots I end up spinning the ball and they slide right through my break point.

What I'm wondering is what exactly causes the ball to spin? Is it caused from turning too early? Perhaps over-turning? A lax wrist at release? (which would be odd since I feel I keep a firm wrist) Maybe a combination of these? As they say, knowledge is power, so it's hard to implement a fix when you don't know where exactly the problem is! I feel that my average would improve by at least 10 pins if I could get rid of my ball spin completely, as inconsistent ball reaction from spin is usually the reason I miss a strike. I've seriously considered trying two handed bowling just for a more consistent ball turn because I'm pretty decent at hitting marks right now. Any tips or advice is much appreciated, thank you!

bowl1820
12-30-2013, 02:11 PM
Your getting too much axis tilt (spin), basically the hand turns too early and your thumb is exiting on top of the ball.

Axis tilt is determined by the position of the thumb during the release, some things to change your axis tilt are by how you Cock the wrist, cupping the ball (Keeping your wrist firm at least)

Study the Analysis of the modern 10-Pin Bowling Swing and Release video here: