PDA

View Full Version : What is the longest period of time that you've been the anchor bowler?

Hammer
03-31-2014, 10:36 PM
I have been on this league for 27 years. So, I guess that I have been the anchor bowler on the teams that I have been on for 27 years. My wife and I have gone through three different teammates and team names in that time. Our first team name was Tuna Sandwich then Mutts and Jeffs and the current being Genesis. It is hard to believe that with each team I was voted the ANCHOR. You can say that I have had a lot of experience going up to bowl when we needed a certain number of pins to win the game. I have had times where I was the hero and time that I was the goat.

If we lost my teammates on all of the teams I bowled with never put the blame on me. Each one would say something like if I bowled my average we could have won. Just because you are the anchor that doesn't mean that the whole loss falls on you. How did your other three teammates bowl in that game? You have to look at the big picture. There is no I in team. The effort falls on everyone on the team. It is especially rough if you lose a game by one to ten pins. Then each teammate goes through the if only I didn't miss that spare or opened in the tenth.

There are times when a loss is hard to take but you pull up your bootstraps and go on to the next battle. I never regretted or tried to get out of being the anchor in all of those years. It is really great when your team is losing and you are the last bowler and everyone from your team and the team you are bowling against are watching to see what you will do because the game is close. Then you go up there and throw the first ball in the tenth and it is a strike. Then your second ball is a strike. Now you are really pumped. Now your focus is razor sharp. You make your approach for the third shot and as soon as you let it go you know it is a good shot and you blast the pins for a strike.