PDA

View Full Version : Approach issue- my shoes or my head?

Edy13
04-19-2014, 08:49 PM
I noticed that I am very self conscious with my feet / shoes. I have a pair of Rios that are universal and I constantly feel uneasy and unsure when on the approach- it just feels too 'slippery' to me and I can't seem to get into a stride let alone a comfortable and secure slide at the release. I am wondering if this is normal and it just takes repetition to 'trust' my shoes or if I should look at new shoes with a traction pad / sole to give me a sense of security and more traction. Do the shoes designed for a specific hand make that much of a difference?

I appreciate your insight and suggestions. I am brand new at the sport and it is obvious that it is becoming a major issue in getting better. I'm just not sure if it is the shoes or me.

Thanks...

J Anderson
04-19-2014, 09:11 PM
I noticed that I am very self conscious with my feet / shoes. I have a pair of Rios that are universal and I constantly feel uneasy and unsure when on the approach- it just feels too 'slippery' to me and I can't seem to get into a stride let alone a comfortable and secure slide at the release. I am wondering if this is normal and it just takes repetition to 'trust' my shoes or if I should look at new shoes with a traction pad / sole to give me a sense of security and more traction. Do the shoes designed for a specific hand make that much of a difference?

I appreciate your insight and suggestions. I am brand new at the sport and it is obvious that it is becoming a major issue in getting better. I'm just not sure if it is the shoes or me.

Thanks...

What I have noticed with universal shoes is that you have to keep your foot flexed through the push step so the heel stays on the approach. If the heel comes up the foot slides backwards instead of propelling you forward. I've also noticed as the shoes age, the rubber heel gets harder and provides less traction and less braking at the end of the slide.