PDA

View Full Version : Good bowling ball for beginner?

andy569
07-15-2014, 04:11 PM
I'm new to the forums so I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right section, sorry if it isn't.

So I started bowling a lot last summer but that summer I only bowled flat(I think that's what it's called?), I didn't hook. After the summer ended I didn't bowl that much after until the start of this summer. I decided to start learning how to hook, I watched one video on how to do it and I gave it a shot and kind of adjusted and self-taught myself. I'll probably be watching more videos for tips on technique and things like that.

So I was wondering what would be a good bowling ball for a beginning hooker? I started bowling again in July and I've gone bowling about once a week. My high game so far is 226 and my average is about 140, and I've been using the stock ball they have at my local bowling alley, I believe it's a "Smart Ball." I'd like to get my own bowling ball and continue to improve my game so it'd be great if you guys could recommend me a good bowling ball.

Thanks!

rv driver
07-15-2014, 05:55 PM
Here are some suggestions:
Look for an "entry-level" reactive ball.

My favorites are the DV8 Misfit and the Motiv Ascent. But I'd also look at stuff like the Columbia Freeze, the Roto-Grip up Roar, and the Storm Tropical Breeze, or maybe the Wipe Out. Brunswick's entry ball is the Strike King. I'd suggest having your local pro shop pro watch you throw a few and make suggestions, because each ball reacts differently and has a different motion. You'll want to find one that does what you want it to do, what you can make it do, and does what you want to see the ball do. The pro can help you do that.

mike_thomas93
07-15-2014, 06:02 PM