PDA

View Full Version : Multiple problems

xandrew245x
08-11-2014, 05:38 PM
Hello everyone, I'm new here. I have been bowling for close to 10 years. I bowled on a youth league for 4 years, but quit for about 4 years but now am starting up again. I have a 14 pound ebonite the one. Since starting up again, I have bowled a good many games, I quickly noticed that I wanted to muscle the ball on the down swing causing major problems with where my ball went and lost a lot of revs because of it. I have gotten better at it, but still find myself doing it. Any tips to help focus on allowing the ball weigh to just do the work?

When I bowled on league, I generally through a straight line, down the side around the 5 board and hooking in. No matter what I tried I could never get the ball to hook more than that, if I tried to throw a wider shot, the ball just wouldn't come back. I honestly think I put a decent amount of revs on it and feel it should react much better that it does. Last week the lanes were fairly dry and I was able to start at 15 board, throw out to the 5 board and it would hook back perfectly. Went to a different bowling alley, threw it the exact same and came no where near hitting the pocket. Is it a possibility my ball was drilled incorrectly, it just doesn't seem to have the hook it should.

RobLV1
08-11-2014, 06:39 PM
If it hooked in one center and not in the other, the problem is not in your ball. The lane conditions were obviously different in the two houses. All that the drilling on a bowling ball does is to change the numbers, the rg and the differential, and dictate the direction of the axis migration.

xandrew245x
08-11-2014, 09:36 PM