PDA

View Full Version : Our bowling league home AMF closed it's doors today-YIKES!

Hammer
08-29-2014, 07:35 PM
The place we bowled on leagues for years closed today. I read other folks on this FORUM talking about their AMF bowling center closing. I never thought that would happen to ours. Right now we are trying to see if we can hook up with another center for our league. I was really looking forward to our fall league starting the 14th of September. If we can't get into another house it will seem strange to not be bowling on every other Saturday night from September to May.

I have been doing this for 28 years. I will be going through withdrawal. It has been said here that AMF was bought out by someone. Who?

Blomer
08-29-2014, 08:02 PM
Wow! Sorry to hear. Was there no warning? Hopefully someone will buy it.

MiggityMatt
08-29-2014, 08:02 PM
Bummer man, I'm sorry to hear that. You can read about the company that purchased AMF and Brunswick here:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bowlmor_AMF

Hammer
08-29-2014, 08:33 PM
With Bowlmor buying out AMF and Brunswick it sounds a lot like it has to do with making more money changing to open bowling and group events. That puts league play out to pasture. I guess us leaguers will have to hunt for centers that accept league play. The times they are a changing and not for the better in a lot of things.

MICHAEL
08-30-2014, 12:06 AM
Yes one of our AMF's close here in Kansas City Missouri... been around for many years, some people bowled there for over 20 years,,, broke their hearts... It was a fine establishment.... Bowlmor just decided to pull the plug!

HughScot
08-30-2014, 10:00 PM
I bowl at an AMF center and Bowlmor has been making a number of changes and improvements to the place. And Bowlmor is very receptive to Leagues and even sends out emails asking I like the place, etc. So far so good.

Jaescrub
08-30-2014, 10:06 PM