PDA

View Full Version : Why are most bowling balls multi-colored, or "swirled"?

Monte
09-08-2014, 03:36 PM
I've noticed that most balls on the market now are multi-colored, or "swirled". I'm just wondering why. Whatever happened to single-color, or solid-color balls (aside from the logo)?

I've had a few different balls like this. When I was much younger I was given a Columbia 300 yellow dot that looked very much like this:

I graduated from that, to a black Hammer, that basically looked like this:

However, a lot of balls these days aren't these "solid" colors. They're all multi-colored and "swirled".

Is there any real reason for that? I'm simply curious.

Mike White
09-08-2014, 03:45 PM
Bowling with a single color ball is like bowling with one eye tied behind your back.

The ball need to enter the roll phase shortly before hitting the pins.

The ball starts going down the lane in somewhat of a spiral appearance, and then changes into a forward roll.

If it never changes, you either need to play on a different part of the lane, or select a ball with a rougher surface.

If it changes too early, you need to find oil, or a polished ball.

That transition is very hard to see if you have a single color ball.

Monte
09-08-2014, 03:53 PM
Mike:

Thanks for the explanation. That makes sense. I used to just use some sort of "marker" on my ball to determine what it was doing. When I had my Columbia 300 yellow dot, I'd basically have to watch the dot as best as I could. With my black hammer, I had white finger inserts, so I would watch those.

bowl1820
09-08-2014, 04:09 PM
However, a lot of balls these days aren't these "solid" colors. They're all multi-colored and "swirled".

Is there any real reason for that? I'm simply curious.

Saying they made them swirled so you can see the ball transition is ludicrous.

The closest thing to a company doing that was AMF with the tracers dots on the old classic S3D ball.

The real reason is Marketing and Shelf Appeal.

Mike White