PDA

View Full Version : Release Question

bobforsaken
09-23-2014, 06:02 PM
I've been working on improving my release for a few months now. I have two ways of releasing the ball in terms of how it feels to me. One way allows me to be pretty accurate but I suffer from low revs and bad carry. The other way produces better revs but I have yet to gain consistency with it.

Again this is by how it feels to me and how I visualize what I'm doing.

Release 1. I come from a cupped position and as I'm rotating around the side of the ball as I uncup I let the ball fall off my thumb and my fingers "catch it". My follow through feels as though I'm "scratching" up the side of the ball with my inserted fingers. This produces an accurate throw for me but low revs/Poor carry

Release 2. I start full cupped with the weight of the ball sitting between my index finger and thumb. As I'm coming forward on my final slide step I imagine the index finger pointing to my target and maintain the flat cupped spot just a little longer. then I imagine twisting a door knob or tossing a football underhand towards the arrow with my index finger being the axis of which my wrist rotates around. This generally produces a higher rev rate but less accuracy on my delivery.

Release 2 seems to be giving me the best strike percentage but I suffer with spares. If it sounds "right" i'll keep working on getting comfortable with it.

If Release 1 sounds right, then can anyone offer suggestions to help me improve my rev rate/carry?

Amyers
09-23-2014, 08:23 PM
Release two is closer to how I release the ball. Be careful not to over rotate the hand this could be causing some of your accuracy problems.

Shaneshu87
09-23-2014, 08:57 PM