PDA

View Full Version : Handicap vs Scratch

NewToBowling
04-02-2015, 10:02 AM
Ok, I'm new to the game (hence my screen name :))

I know handicap vs scratch is a big issue.

I think bowling is one of the few sports that has handicap. I'm guessing the main reason they do it is to get interest in local leagues and tournaments. Otherwise there would be less interest if you know you're going up against 240-260 average guys and you're at 170. And money is always the bottom line.

What if someone has been bowling 10 years and still has a handicap of 140 vs someone who has been at it for only 2 years and is already 220 average. Sometimes someone is just better than others, regardless of experience.

The 220 bowler is just a better bowler and will always be a better bowler than the 140 guy. Sure the 140 guy would probably win a handful of handicap tournaments but that's because he is being given 80 extra pins. So yes the 140 guy would technically "beat" the 220 guy in handicap tournaments but I'm sure the 220 bowled better than the 140 guy with more pinfall.

Some people just plateau and hit their max. No amount of teaching, sessions, practice will ever get them to improve. Like Iceman would say, they just don't have the GIFT.

And of course there is the whole sandbagging issue with handicap tournaments.

jab5325
04-02-2015, 10:14 AM
I'm not a fan of handicap leagues or tournaments because of some of the issues you've mentioned.

A guy with a 170 average and a 30 pin handicap bowls 220, and you have to score 250 to beat him.

That said, where my game is at currently, I'm not ready to take on scratch leagues and tournaments. Hopefully I'll get there. If I don't, oh well......at the end of the day, if I beat someone in the scratch score, I don't really care whether the handicap final score ends up.

Mike White
04-02-2015, 12:32 PM
I'm not a fan of handicap leagues or tournaments because of some of the issues you've mentioned.