PDA

View Full Version : Added benefit of bowling as a hobby/sport...

NewToBowling
07-20-2015, 03:26 PM
The bowling balls aren't a big theft item. I can leave my bowling balls in my car in plain sight and they probably won't get stolen.

It just isn't a sought after item. Heck, for anyone to use it correctly they would have to spend $50-70 to plug and redrill anyways. I am also a hobbyist photographer and my camera gear is the exact opposite. Goes with me everywhere if not at home. I never leave it in the car.

John Anderson
07-20-2015, 03:48 PM
You have it exactly right. Nobody thinks of them as that valuable, well, because they aren't that valuable. They are relatively cheap to get a hold of and nobody really wants to buy used bowling balls. Pawn shops wouldn't buy them most likely. Pro shops definitely don't want to give you any money for them.

Amyers
07-20-2015, 04:00 PM
Yet you would be surprised how often they go missing from alleys

NewToBowling
07-20-2015, 04:34 PM
I asked one of the pro shops and he outright said we don't take in used balls. Not a big market for them. Plus it would undercut their new ball sales.

John Anderson
07-20-2015, 05:24 PM
I asked one of the pro shops and he outright said we don't take in used balls. Not a big market for them. Plus it would undercut their new ball sales.

Exactly. It's not to anybody's benefit really except those who have rather shallow wallets. I wouldn't personally buy used bowling balls.

NewToBowling
07-20-2015, 07:58 PM
Except shops make money on the drilling and not the ball. Many probably break even on ball

John Anderson
07-20-2015, 09:15 PM
Except shops make money on the drilling and not the ball. Many probably break even on ball

I'd be interested to know the actual markups as well. Now to hunt down some owner who is willing to provide some honest answers. Brunswick offers 10% rebates on sales greater than $1,000 per year, which is basically every pro shop that sells Brunswick/DV8 gear.

Tony