PDA

View Full Version : What to do with extreme humidity?

JasonNJ
10-29-2015, 02:41 PM
Last night during my Wednesday Night Mixed league the bowling center was a sauna. It rained all day and was still raining when league started. I could not slide at all and pretty much everyone had the same issue. In fact one of the guys on the team I was playing against actually took a fall and practically fell onto the lane. I've been bowling here 2 or 3 times a week for the last 14 months or so and never had conditions like this.

What are some of the things I can do next to combat this? Thanks.

Jason

LyalC52
10-29-2015, 03:05 PM
get shoes with changeable soles and heels
never used on but I heard the slide socks are good for heavy humidity

or be "that guy" and dust your shoes and approaches with easy slide lol

Amyers
10-29-2015, 03:22 PM
Get a soap stone to rub on your shoe can help sometimes too. Interchangeable soles are great if this is a frequent problem. Mine get a decent amount of use because I bowl in some houses that are synthetic approaches and some wood.

NewToBowling
10-29-2015, 03:44 PM
Humidity, what's that? :)

RobLV1
10-29-2015, 03:53 PM
Changeable heels and soles, as well as slide socks are the best way to combat the sticky approaches resulting from high humidity. Once you find something that allows you to slide, you need to realize that high humidity also affects the oil on the lanes. Usually, high humidity creates over/under ball reactions. There are two things that you can do to minimize this: use a solid reactive ball with some surface, and stay away from the oil line. Either play the dry on the outside, or the oil inside, but avoid the line that gets you too close to both the oil and the friction.

vdubtx
10-29-2015, 04:09 PM