PDA

View Full Version : Adapting to changing lane conditions

moleman
01-23-2016, 02:21 PM
Hello, I am a relative newbie to bowling, (Third Year), and I am having a bit of trouble reading the lanes. Certainly to be expected, but I need someone to explain several things. Last night during shadow bowling I quickly got a grasp on the conditions and locked in on my board and position. I was bowling against a field of right handed bowlers with one exception. The first game went perfect and I was hitting flush pocket with incredible results. My ball was coming back with little oil on it at that point. Towards the end of the game my ball was edging further high but I was still getting high flush with good results. Then came game two. My ball was now hitting straight through the nose to Brooklyn and was returning with more oil on it. I adjusted my feet right two boards and got the same result. I adjusted my sight over further left several boards, same results. By the time I was in game three I was throwing it way out further on the left but nothing was working. My ball needed wiping like mad every return. I finally returned my foot position further left against convention, eased up on my swing a bit, slowed down and moved my target further to the right, quite shallow. I was able to eke out a paltry 165 but at least it was working slightly better. What I need to know is what was going on with the oil? Were the righties pushing it left into my track or further down past the hook section? How was I to compensate? Ending up sighting further inward to the right and moving my feet position further left is so counter to what you are taught. Thanks

Grouperdawg
01-23-2016, 03:52 PM