PDA

View Full Version : General question regarding swing

ukcatsbowler
03-14-2016, 03:26 PM
Sorry I am new to bowling. I've been trying to learn to hook. Pretty unsuccessful so far. I am signing up for lessons in the next month. I think that will help way more than anything.

I am trying to hold the ball in the following position: not completely flat but not completely as if shaking hands. Kind of in between the two.

Do I maintain this position throughout the entire swing and release?

I read where I would want my thumb pointing towards the right gutter at relate with my fingers slightly towards the left gutter.

Feel pretty lost at this point. I averaged around 130 just throwing straight but lucky to get close to 90 with trying to hook. Don't think I've hooked it once.

fokai73
03-14-2016, 06:20 PM
IMO since you're still fresh, I'd wait till you get your first of many lessons. As a beginner releasing straight off the back of the ball, rolling end over end is a great start.

With today's hooking balls, you don't need much hand "turn" to make it hook. Too many ppl over rotates trying to hook the ball which ends up spinning the ball instead.

Blomer
03-14-2016, 06:36 PM
What type of ball are you using? If your are new, are you using a house/plastic ball? Those won't hook. If you have a reactive ball, it's pretty hard not to get those to hook. I'm not the greatest giving advice, but there are many hear who are who I'm sure can help. Also your lessons will help a lot. The underhand football practice technique helped me. Very similar motion. When I release the ball, after the shaking hands motion, I raise my arm as if I am brushing my hair back, or lack of hair I have. I'm not the best at describing things here, but you will find thise site as a great resource.

Mike White
03-14-2016, 07:05 PM