PDA

View Full Version : To all that came back this year from a long layoff....

LOUVIT
09-05-2016, 03:40 PM
Where did you start with your come back and where are you now/

personally I was a mess 5 months ago after 25+ years not bowling. i was all over the place 5 months ago and using an old ball which wouldn't hook a inch. I learned that things changed. I now have 2 new balls that move a lot and I am at the point that I shoot 130 or 230...lol. I just need to learn to concentrate on my release. I pull the ball a lot buy not keeping my wrist stright through the follow through.

let's help each other...

panbanger
09-05-2016, 10:23 PM
Well I came back 4 years ago after 20+ years away. I still feel that I'm new to it, especially after reading some posts here and almost every post at some other forums. PAP, axis tilt, RG, huh? lol! If I hit my spot, I do well - that's what I know so far. For me it's about my release, but really my whole delivery. If my timing is off, I try to put extra muscle on the release and end up pulling it. Then sometimes I overcompensate and baby my whole delivery and the ball goes 10 MPH and hooks too much. What can I say I have to practice more so that ideally my delivery would become second nature.

panbanger
09-05-2016, 10:28 PM
Also if you haven't done it yet, you might want to get some video of yourself bowling. Not to post on here necessarily, but just to look at yourself. I bought a mini tripod for my iphone for about 12 bucks on Amazon and have lots of video of me bowling over the past few years. When I look at the video of shortly after I got back in to the sport (when I switched from conventional to fingertip grip) and compare it to more recent stuff, I see definite improvement.

Tony
09-05-2016, 11:14 PM