PDA

View Full Version : Ball advice for a 5-year old

mishatx
01-03-2017, 03:42 PM
I'm a once-a-month-or-so recreational bowler, and my nearly-5 year old is the one who usually wants to go the lanes. The center keeps the 6 pound balls behind the desk, and occasionally they are all being used, or didn't get returned and you need to hunt through the house balls to find one. So I was thinking that the little lady might like to have her own ball to take to the alley.

Couple questions:
1. I assume at this weight and a polyester ball, a ball is a ball is a ball and we don't really need to consider anything beyond "I want a purple one" or "I like the one with the stars"?

2. Drilling - currenty she just pushes the ball down the lane and can't comfortably control the ball with one hand. Thoughts on just leaving it undrilled until she asks for holes? Maybe only drilling finger holes and introducing her to a thumb-out two handed style (which I have no experience with, ftw)? I just figure at this age she'll outgrow the drill before she's ready for a heavier ball.

chip82901
01-03-2017, 06:01 PM
I've worked with numerous kids from about that age all the way through high school. My big thing is, let them be comfortable. I'm a 2-hander myself and have been since I started bowling around that age. I just never felt comfortable throwing the ball with 1 hand, although I never did really "push" the ball down the lane. Basically, anything under 10lbs is going basically off color. They all pretty much have the same weight block inside of them. So, let her choose what color she wants, have her hand measured out (thumb hole included), and give her the option to choose what she wants to do. At least getting her fitted, she can go either way she wants to with it

J Anderson
01-03-2017, 06:08 PM