PDA

View Full Version : Ball speed vs Hook

jbultman
01-16-2017, 10:25 PM
Basically.... Faster Ball and less hook vs Slower ball and more hook??!

The long and short of it is I'm new to bowling, only my second week in leagues, only 1 month with new ball. Basically, I want my ball to hook more. Currently throwing on a house shot in leagues, with a Columbia Nitrous, ball speed is averaging about 18mph (calculated via the in-alley computer and on video from the coach's eye app and ball speed chart). I don't know what my rev rate is though, haven't figured out how to calculate that, yet. I was told I have medium spin. However my ball is only hooking a couple of boards. I line up on the second dot from the right, aiming between the second and third arrow. If I slow my shot down the ball still doesn't seem to hook up. And will hit the 6pin. I've tried moving my aim and my feet with no luck. I can hit the pocket but I only get maybe 5 board hook.

I guess there are a couple different options...
Option #1 Continue with what I'm doing
Option #2 Change the surface of the ball and do...
Option #3 Do something I haven't thought of yet

Thanks and I look forward to hearing the responses. I'm leaning to trying a pad and changing the surface. So I'd live to hear what you guys say.

JasonNJ
01-17-2017, 01:08 AM
Usually faster ball = less hook. It's basically matching up the 2, because if one force is greater than the other than that force is usually going to win and dictate your ball movement.

So how new is new to bowling? Is this the first ball you've ever bought? There are a lot of different variables that could be preventing the ball from hooking. I have an equivalent ball to the Nitrous, I have a Columbia 300 Deep Freeze and it hooks for me just fine. Here are a list of things that I think you can check.

1. Grip - do you have a proper finger tip grip.
2. Drilling layout - is your ball drilled properly.