PDA

View Full Version : Spare Ball Question

StormTex
02-02-2017, 03:44 PM
Currently using a urethane Storm Mix with a standard "label drill" for picking up spares, I am getting about 2-4" of hook on the back end most of the time and this is causing issues picking up combination spares on occasion.
I've already plan to purchase a polyester spare ball but was thinking instead of retiring the Mix have it plugged and re-drilled for more hook and possibly polishing/sanding the cover if needed. I ended up using it last league night toward the end of the 3rd game as a first ball because the lanes dried out so much, but wanted a little more hook out of it. Just seeing if you think the mix is worthy of a dry lane ball
Since I've little experience right now I look forward to your replies
current quiver is a Rocket-Ship, G900 Drift, Mix and new poly spare ball coming
Thanks!

fokai73
02-02-2017, 08:24 PM
Your Mix looks like its layout is max or near max flare already. The ball is Good for bone dry. but you can upgrade with dry or medium/dry lane ball with a bigger core just to help some with carry. And tweak the cover as needed.

For your spares, If you can flatten out your release or roll back up ball, you may find success with the mix. How fast do you throw? Also, I go throw plastic balls more often than others, and the Mix is much stronger than regular spare balls. But, the straighter the ball goes for a spare conversion, the better it is. Plastic balls do that.

I use a spare ball with a large core with my speed is around 18.5-19 mph down lane, and some times when the backends are flying, my ball turns left. So I adjust where I stand and go from there.

If it was me.... I'll keep the Mix and upgrade. WHen you see more oil, the mix is a great spare ball. You'll have a strike/spare ball in one.

StormTex
02-03-2017, 08:31 AM