PDA

View Full Version : Benchmark ball

Algamotorsports67
02-09-2017, 03:33 PM
I'm fairly new to bowling, (5 months) I'm looking for a benchmark ball for a typical house pattern. I'm a lefty stroker who throws about 16 mph with medium revs at best. I currently own a Forrest green quantum and ebonite cyclone, but am looking for a solid benchmark ball that I can use first on a house shot whether fresh or beat up oil.
Thank you!

1VegasBowler
02-09-2017, 03:45 PM
Welcome!

There are a lot of benchmark balls out here, but the original DV8 Vandal is an excellent benchmark ball. It is also good enough to use for the entire night, and I certainly have on many occasions.

Algamotorsports67
02-09-2017, 05:00 PM
Sounds like a great ball, but I'm having trouble finding it in 15lbs. I believe it's a discontinued ball? Any other suggestions? Also, When picking this next "benchmark" ball should I consider a different cover stock then the balls in my current aresenal? (Polished solid reactive and a matte/sanded reactive resin)

1VegasBowler
02-09-2017, 05:07 PM
The original Vandal is still available. BowlersMart https://www.bowlersmart.com/dv8-vandal-bowling-ball still has them in many different weights, and for $135 it's a darn good price.

You can check out our review of the Vandal - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPaobF59JsQ&t=99s

Tony
02-09-2017, 05:08 PM
Sounds like a great ball, but I'm having trouble finding it in 15lbs. I believe it's a discontinued ball? Any other suggestions? Also, When picking this next "benchmark" ball should I consider a different cover stock then the balls in my current aresenal? (Polished solid reactive and a matte/sanded reactive resin)

If you want a Vandal, maybe look at the latest one Vandal Destroy and see if it meets your needs.

Stormed1
02-09-2017, 06:06 PM
Chronic Paranoia is a really good benchmark for THS.

RobLV1
02-10-2017, 12:20 AM