PDA

View Full Version : How common is it that a trip to the local lanes damages your ball?

ccbehrens
02-15-2017, 03:06 PM
So, I am fairly new and I am just getting my first ball for hooking. I have been using a plastic ball for about 6 months and there are two local lanes that we go to and are owned by the same company. I won't name them. My spouse has a blue Hammer and I have a cheapo Tzone at the moment. His ball got some nicks and surface marks over the past 6 months bowling league and learning. It was pretty noticable, but I figured that it might be because his was a "performance urythane", but I don't bowl as often since I don't bowl in that league with him. Recently, I noticed mine got a few small gouges in it as well. Both lanes seem well kept, but a few of the lanes at both places seem to struggle with balls getting stuck. Is this just normal or is it that they are a little lax on the maintenance side of things? Should I just expect that the balls will get messed up over time?

panbanger
02-15-2017, 04:21 PM
It's way more common than it should be. I've seen balls replaced at the center's expense due to damage from the returns, also balls resurfaced at the center's expense if the damage is somewhat minor. Alert the staff about what's happening when you notice it. They may not realize what's going on.

fokai73
02-15-2017, 05:05 PM
I don't worry too much with nicks and scratches on bowling balls. if I did, I'd leave them up on the shelf. But divots and gouges, and depending on their depth and length is a different story. If the there is a Proshop inside the bowling alley, which seems to be less common nowadays, they can surface or repair the damage. A friend had her ball chewed up and Bowlmor replaced it, they ordered her a new ball and it was shipped to the center. No proshop available. I don't know about the drilling services though..

KYDave
02-15-2017, 07:52 PM