PDA

View Full Version : Go-to ball for dry conditions and burned up heads?

bigt_45
03-21-2017, 09:31 AM
So I had the opportunity to demo a few Storm and Roto Grip balls yesterday at our local center, but it wasn't an official demo day so I couldn't get on a fresh lane. The lane we started on was crazy dry, you could literally see the balls start hooking instantly. I'm new to the sport so I started to wonder if my release way just way off for some reason because it looked like every ball had no rotation with way too much forward roll right off the bat. Well luckily we were able to move over to a fresh lane after a few games and bam, all was right with the world again. Once the oil broke in a little my old Crux was very happy and I actually bowled my high score of 234. So short story long, what is your go-to ball for really dry conditions like we fought on that first lane? I would guess a strong pearl ball with a really high polish and large drilling angle, but it would simply be a guess.

fordman1
03-21-2017, 11:06 AM
My first choice is the Storm Match that is polished.
Second is Fantastic BTU which I am getting ready to polish.
If it gets really terrible the Pitch Black.

bigt_45
03-21-2017, 11:43 AM
Great, thank you. Do those allow you to keep the same line or do you you have to open your angles more down and in? I thought about polishing my Storm Wipe Out to try, what polish do you use?

fordman1
03-21-2017, 11:53 AM
I am using Motiv. It was on sale on Amazon Prime. My guess is they are mostly the same. I have a spinner so it might make a difference without one. Good luck.

chip82901
03-21-2017, 02:10 PM
If they are dry outsides, I usually opt to go with something with surface honestly and move inside. For instance, if they dry out on the outsides, but the heads aren't fried, I actually go to my Phaze II, which will burn up a bit before making the turn. Just have to keep it pretty tight. Now, if everything is gone, I will go with my Pitch Blue

bigt_45