PDA

View Full Version : Good morning from a total beginner

jwatkin13
03-27-2017, 07:29 AM
Hey everyone!

I'm brand new to the hobby. I went bowling for the first time in probably 10 years this past summer. Since then I've been about 8 times, and finally decided I want to learn how to properly bowl. This past week, I picked up my first ball (Ebonite Cyclone) and had it drilled finger tip. I'm trying to get the grip down, but I think the thumb hole needs some slight adjusting.

So what is your best advice for someone brand new to the hobby? I cant hook, shoot spares consistently, and don't know what I'm doing. That said I'm excited to learn!

Blomer
03-27-2017, 08:31 AM
Welcome. I was in your shoes 4 years agar after someone in my work asked me to join a league. Had no shoes, no ball, couldn't hook the ball, barely get 100 pins a game. Four years later, I'm averaging 200. A lot of practice and learning from these boards have helped a lot. Biggest piece of advice, have fun! With summer coming, I suggest if you live by a Brunswick zone is to get their summer games pass where you get 3 games a day every day for about two months for $35. Key part to get your score up is making spares. Good luck.

jwatkin13
03-27-2017, 10:47 AM
Thanks for the encouragement! I actually just bought my wife and I the summer pass, May 22 can't come soon enough. Hopefully I've got some of the basics down by that points.

manke
03-27-2017, 11:39 AM
Welcome to the site!!

bigt_45
03-27-2017, 11:44 AM
My advice would be to read as many technical threads on here as you can along with watching YouTube coaching and release videos. Just take everything with a grain of salt and try different things to get a good feel for what you are doing and what changes feel like. I'm new to bowling seriously myself and each time I bowl I see and feel something new, which can be a little frustrating too, but it is a process.

JasonNJ
03-27-2017, 12:08 PM