PDA

View Full Version : Relaxing my Grip

Brite1
04-03-2017, 01:12 PM
Hey guys,

I'm new to forum and looking for some help on tips for relaxing my grip. I'm fairly new to bowling, but was in a for fun league over the last summer as well as a couples league every other weekend this fall and winter. Add in a few random nights of practice, once or twice a week.

The big issue I think I'm having, is the old ball I was using (an old purple Rhino Pro from my dad) wasn't fitted to me correctly. As a result I had to hold on for dear life in order to stop dropping the ball on my backswing.

I recently purchased a new ball (Colmbia 300 Raw Urge), on the recommendation from my driller(he actually gave me a few balls to choose from that were recently discontinued, to help with the cost, as well as options to help provide more hook). I'm thinking having this new ball that actually fits should help with my grip issues.

I have only been able to throw a few games so far with the Raw Urge, but am noticing I still tend to over grip. I'm guessing this is just a habit I've developed, but wondering if there are any tricks to convince my brain that it doesn't need to use the death grip.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks.

MickeyOliverLee
04-04-2017, 09:29 AM
Hey guys,

I'm new to forum and looking for some help on tips for relaxing my grip. I'm fairly new to bowling, but was in a for fun league over the last summer as well as a couples league every other weekend this fall and winter. Add in a few random nights of practice, once or twice a week.

The big issue I think I'm having, is the old ball I was using (an old purple Rhino Pro from my dad) wasn't fitted to me correctly. As a result I had to hold on for dear life in order to stop dropping the ball on my backswing.