PDA

View Full Version : Which target arrow?

AIRBENDER
03-25-2009, 01:13 PM
I am new to bowling (other than recreationally). My question is what target arrow is best to use on most oil patterns. I am a lefty. Currently, I try to target the 10th board (second arrow from the left). I try to send the ball straight down this board and it hooks into the pocket. I have heard that using the 5th board (1st arrow) may produce a better angle to the pocket. I am a little nervous about using it since it is close to the gutter and I have put a few balls into the gutter after moving to my right during the game as an adjustment.

Also, I noticed when i was practicing the other day on a dry lane I was able to stand on the 7th board (for a right hand person) and aimed between the second and third arrows (10th and 15th board for lefties) and was able to produce more strikes. The angle seemed better. i was using the Storm Big Hit at the time. I guess I am a stroker because I don't think I put that many revs on the ball. My balls are finger tip grip though.

bowl1820
03-25-2009, 02:20 PM
Well for starting out your playing about where should be. Most start around the ten board (2nd Arrow the track area).

Remember when you move toward the outside of the lane (with your feet) and playing outside of ten . That's typically a dryer area, which calls for a faster speed and straighter line to the pocket ( don't try to loop the ball).

When playing close to the gutter, think of your hand following one board down the lane. This helps you not dump it in the gutter (like when playing the "twig" the 1 & 2 board).

11 in a row
03-26-2009, 02:06 PM