PDA

View Full Version : Do I have too much ball for my throw speed?

Hammerguy529
05-25-2009, 07:30 PM
Ok, I throw both the hammer hotsauce pearl and the ebonite magic. I often find myself throwing softer and I don't exactly know how to correct it. When I try to throw a bit harder I lose more accuracy or end up in the gutter. Now that begs the question am I throwing too much ball for the lanes at my house for my speed? I love both of these balls and they are both quite the eye catcher. I am also a bit new to the sport to really understand the technical aspect on which does what? Should I step down to a less hooking ball to compensate for my speed, or should I bring my speed up?:confused:

Graaille
05-25-2009, 10:10 PM
I think the only thing you may need to change is your philosophy. Let me explain.....

You say you lose accuracy when you throw harder, which to my mind says that you're forcing the ball/muscling the ball. Don't think of it as throwing harder, relax the shoulder and get a more relaxed swing - then speed up your tempo to the foul line. The more relaxed your swing, the more relaxed your shoulder - the better your accuracy will become. And with that, then the only change in speed you'll have to make is how far up/down in your stance you hold the ball, and at what tempo you approach the line at.

Now I won't deny that you may have too much ball - I can't and won't say one way or the other. But if your swing is truly relaxed and in the groove, and the inside of your elbow is always pointing at your target thru the swing, and you still wind up guttering it when your tempo is up -- then it's time to either change targets or change balls.

Honestly, the ball change is probably the last resort. Fundimentals first - then equipment.

PSBA10
05-25-2009, 10:20 PM
Graaille is right. If you are losing accuracy when you throw "harder" you are probably muscling the ball.