PDA

View Full Version : Buying a Ball - Ball Size & Drilling etc

HBRob_t
07-11-2009, 01:12 PM
I want to get my own ball. :D
I've been bowling for 3 to 4 months.
I've got my own shoes.
I use a house ball that's 14lbs with XL drill pattern.
Online vs Pro Shop (my pro shop is always closed)?
Type of ball material?
Weight?

bowl1820
07-11-2009, 02:57 PM
I've got my own shoes.
Type of ball material?
Weight?

Find out when it's open and go to the pro-shop! There they can fit you properly and make a good ball recommendation for you.

Go for a entry level ball, they will be a lower cost and a good place to start.

JaxBowlingGuy
07-11-2009, 02:59 PM
For your 1st ball I would go with the proshop... Find what hours they are open and go there when you can... If you throw a 14lb house ball then I would think atleast a 14lb ball when you get your own.. Keep in mind that when the ball is drilled to fit your hand it will seem a little lighter as well.. As for material is up to what you are looking to do with it.. If you just want a ball that will roll down the lane then you can do like a plastic ball like a white dot or target zone.. You can get those from proshops usually around $65 drilled.. If you would like to learn a hook in the future I would go with like an entry level reactive resin ball. An example of this is somehting like a Storm Tropical Storm... Columbia Scout... Best thing to do when just starting out is to go to your local proshop and talk with them and they can suggest what would be best by what you tell them. But with this being your 1st ball I personally would not buy it online, but go to the shop. Hope this helps. Aslo welcome to the site!

JAnderson
07-14-2009, 03:51 PM
Keep in mind that some pro shops may also offer used equipment for sale. Sometimes you can get a great deal on a very lightly used high-end ball for less than what you would pay for a new low-end ball.