PDA

View Full Version : To League or NOT To League?

HBRob_t
07-30-2009, 02:51 AM
I've been bowling for a few months now. All the people at the lanes push you to join a league. Most of the leagues are anywhere from $15 to $20 a week. My location charges $5.75 a game for normal play. I usually bowl 2 to 3 games a night (once a week). I guess my real question is, what are the advantages of being in a league?

NoTapNorm
07-30-2009, 06:34 AM
To League or Not to League, that is the question-
If you're bowling just to practice or for fun, open bowling is great. But league bowling holds a number of advantages:
1-Social networking. As stated in this forum before, nothing beats facebook better than a bowling center. It doesnt matter if you average 110 or 210, its a place to relax and have fun.
2-Competition-this is where the practice pays off. Even in singles competition, nothing beats a team environment.
3-Learning-Where else is the best place to learn how to make your game better? Books are great, but actually seeing someone do what is described in that book is better. Every league has a know-it-all, but for every know-it-all, there are 5 guys who actually know what they're talking about and willing to help with your game.

Talk to your center manager about league openings and when the meetings are held. The managers and owners I've talked to over the summer have bent over backwards to help find a league that fits, and I'm sure they'll do the same for you.

manningm
07-30-2009, 08:08 AM
There is probably one more advantage that some league bowlers have too, and that is "a league discount card". My league and bowling center offer a discount card just for being a league member. I practiced a few weeks ago because I bought a new ball. It only costs 80 cents a game to practice. My league's fees are $16.00 a night with the usual costs for lineage, prize fund, and secretary fees.http://www.bowlingboards.com/images/icons/icon7.gif

branstew
07-30-2009, 08:11 AM