PDA

View Full Version : Should a newbie buy bowling shoes?

operajester
07-30-2009, 04:36 PM
I'm new to bowling and since I'm going regularly to the alley, the cost of renting bowling shoes is adding up and I want to stick with bowling. There aren't any affordable places in town to buy bowling shoes. Is it a good idea to buy online? I'm looking to spend under $30. (I can't spend more than that) Any suggestions for websites and such? Should I buy a smaller size, bigger size, or my regular size? Do they stretch out when worn often?

kev3inp
07-30-2009, 05:28 PM
I don't think you're going to find much selection at that price point. Off the top of my head, maybe check out Bowler's Wherehouse , Buddie's Pro Shop, and Bowlingball.com to see if they can help you. The better companies are sized like normal shoes for the most part. I can't attest to wear, but my $60.00 Dexters I bought when I got back into bowling broke after a season and a half, and I've had my SST-6's ever since. About 4 times what you're looking to spend, though.

JaxBowlingGuy
07-30-2009, 06:21 PM
28.99 with free shipping..

http://www.bowlingball.com/Bowling-Shoe-2710/dexter-men-s-ricky-white.html

mrbill
07-30-2009, 06:31 PM
I got a few pair on craigs list for 5 bucks

Graaille
07-31-2009, 03:44 PM
I picked up my Etonics for 39.99 from bowling.com, they've lasted 4 years so far.

Twisted Minis
07-31-2009, 08:06 PM
I paid $25 for my first pair of shoes. It took about 3 games for the rubber pad on the push foot to start peeling, and about 2~3 weeks before the sole tore itself from the rest of the shoe rendering them useless. I bought a pair of Dexter SST1 and have not looked back.

jBryan
08-03-2009, 07:49 PM