PDA

View Full Version : New Member from SoCal

jBryan
08-02-2009, 03:54 AM
Hey guys, just joined a couple minutes ago. To start off, my names Joseph and I've been bowling since last April. I'm pretty much self-taught and I'm averaging ~140-150. My top score is a 183. I just bowl for fun as of right now but I'm hoping to join a league within the next year or so as my average goes up. I currently have no equipment and am just using the balls at the alley. I pretty much bowl every Friday night, but try to go on Sunday mornings because the games are only $1 each. I'm planning to buy some shoes and my own ball(s) within the next month, so any tips and suggestions would be a great help. Thanks! :)

kev3inp
08-02-2009, 08:38 AM
Welcome, we're glad you chose to join us. Try your local pro shop and see if they've got a package deal for ball, bag, and shoes. A lot of them do, and you'll do better with your own equipment. Then soon you'll be a bowlingf junkie like the rest of us. :)

JaxBowlingGuy
08-02-2009, 10:21 AM
Welcome! as mentioned above the best is to visit your local proshop when you are 1st starting out. usually that package is like $100-$110.. or if you wanted to get a entry level reactive ball about $25 more.. Good lock and be sure to keep everyone posted.

mrbill
08-02-2009, 10:45 AM
Welcome Joseph
When I started back some months ago I went real cheap/frugal and Got my balls bag shoes from craigs list for under $50 bucks
Now months later I am hitting up the Pro shops for the better stuff....

branstew
08-02-2009, 12:15 PM
Welcome you will soon be like the rest of us thinking of bowling all the time and even dreaming of bowling

jBryan
08-02-2009, 06:46 PM
Thanks for the input guys and I'll be sure to keep you all posted.

The KingPin
08-04-2009, 11:44 PM
Welcome to BowlingBoards.com Bowling Forums. It is great to meet you and please tell your friends.

Chris

jBryan
08-05-2009, 02:59 AM
Thanks Chris! I'll be sure to tell all friends at the local alley.

jBryan