PDA

View Full Version : Ball Speed Questions

Strike Domination
08-20-2009, 07:36 PM
Is it wrong to alter your speed my changing your cadence to the line? As opposed to raising or lowering the ball in your stance. Some people say you should keep the feet slow for the first step(in a 4-step), but obviously different things work for different people. For me, starting off slow actually does help me feel more in control of my timing. It keeps my push away slow so I can manage exactly where and when the ball drops into the swing. I have not always bowled like this, just came across the method recently. I just notice that it becomes slightly easier to post the shot this way, and that's something I'm not too good at to begin with.

The problem for me is the ability to increase my ball speed. I normally throw probably 15-16mph off my hand, and that's a little slow to me. I would like to be at around 17mph with the ability to go back down and increase it even more. I was recently taught to use my power step more in order to increase my speed, but after doing it for a limited time, I'm starting to think that's something I should be doing whether or not I'm trying to change my speed. I think I really wasn't using it much at all before.

So I'm just looking for some advice, input, etc and maybe what you guys do to solve your speed issues. I know my swing used to loop a little bit to the left at the top of my swing(I'm right handed) so assuming I still do that maybe that has an effect on ball speed. If it's necessary, I can try to get some video of how I'm bowling these days if there's going to be other factors in determining ball speed other than what's been mentioned.

Maine Man
08-20-2009, 09:18 PM