PDA

View Full Version : Conventional vs Finger tip grip

wimberlyt
11-07-2009, 02:18 AM
I currently have a 113 average ( bad I know) and currently use a conventional grip with a 15 lb. Tropical Storm and I am considering having my ball redone for a fingertip grip. Is this a good idea? This is my first year on a league. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Strike Domination
11-07-2009, 07:00 AM
If you want to start hooking the ball then go for it. If you're content with the straight ball, then there's not really a need to go to a fingertip drilling. I think the answer you're looking for is, no, it's not too soon to convert.

bowl1820
11-07-2009, 10:23 AM
A conventional grip gives you a firmer hold on a ball. Which is good for control and accuracy, which is why a lot of bowler's start with it.

Now you still can hook a ball with it, just not as powerfully or with the revolutions that you can with a fingertip grip.

Now with a fingertip grip you can get a lot more power and revolutions on a ball, which will generate a lot more pin action.

But for someone starting out you won't have as much control untill you get use to it.

Now should you switch? I'd first would look at how you are bowling now and why your average is low. Are you not striking much? or are you not picking up your spare's? or both?.

While going to fingertip might help you strike more. If your not picking up your spares, it's not going to help that much.

Now I have a new bowler on my mixed league team. He started with a conventional grip plastic ball and he's averaging in the 150's and he's only been bowling 5 weeks.

He throw's it hard and straight with no hook. Now he doesn't strike a lot, but he picks up his spare's with games from 140's to 180's.

Now the 5th week he went to a fingertip grip on his plastic ball.(he didn't like the feel he had with the conventional grip)