PDA

View Full Version : Finger-Tip Grip?

Aerostyc
01-12-2010, 07:11 PM
Hi, I bowl a 107 average (I consider it around 120 though :S) and I'm only 12 years old, and this is my first year in league bowling. Looking around the lanes, I see people throwing hook shots, while I think I'm the only one in the juniors (there's probably one or two more) who is bowling straight.

I have a concept of how to hook using a plastic ball, and using two finger (thumbless) grip. Using two fingers, I can't get a good grip to throw my ball pretty far. So whenever I attempt on hooking the ball, it works, it's just it passes my mark, and goes straight somewhere in the area near the 10 pin.

I have experimented with a conventional grip to hook a plastic ball, and boy it strains and hurts my thumb like crazy lol. My ball also moves slow when I use conventional grip (10 mph?). I've heard of a finger-tip grip, and it's said that it is good for hooking a ball. I haven't tried it yet (I will during practice rounds in my league) but is there any tips or any guidelines for finger-tipped hooking? (I'm also left handed by the way)

Strike Domination
01-12-2010, 07:54 PM
It's not very easy to hook a conventional drilled ball without altering how you approach the line and throw the ball, but some can do it. For the rest, that's what fingertip grip is for. It's very common to be all over the place when you don't use your thumb, but usually the people I see doing this also have enough speed to keep it from over hooking. Since you're young you may not have the strength to not use your thumb and still get the ball down the lane far enough. If you're not going to use your thumb, there is the option of bowling two-handed, but odds are you will become much better using your thumb with a fingertip grip over time.

mike-boogie
01-12-2010, 10:27 PM