PDA

View Full Version : Just need some helpful advice for someone wanting to do much better

skeeb
01-28-2010, 07:23 PM
Hello all,
Ok for starters I am not a beginner. I bowled about 10 years ago and have now gotten back into it since last year. My avg when I was 19yr was about 170ish. This year I started out pretty hot after buying all new gear since my old stuff was ancient. Gear is: Ebonite NVD, plastic spare ball, ebonite shoes.
I dont wear a wrist strap and when I first used the demo ball at the pro shops they told me I threw a pretty hard ball. The NVD was just one of their recommendations.
I do throw a small hook as I did when I was younger.
My first 8 or so weeks I was in the 180s avg. Pretty good for me and I was happy with it. I even bowled a 623 which was one of my best series ever.
I went on a slump and found out it was because my thumb swelled up and I was getting stuck in the ball.
So I had it drilled out more (the grip). I instantly started bowling well again... 180s. Well I am now in the 20th week of my season and my avg is a 173. My last few weeks have again been a slump in the 160s.
I seem to do very well at getting strikes. I avg about 5 a game. Its my spares that are embarrassing. Usually..

Ok, sorry for the long story book there... now to my issues:
When I bowl I feel like I grip the ball or squeeze it. I have been trying to fix that since now my thumb has swelled down and my grip is back to its original form via proshop. I am so inconsistent though..
Yesterday I threw 2 gutters. Sometimes I would feel the ball just fall off my hand... other times I would hold on too much and tug it. I had 2 strikes, gutter, 2 strikes, 2 opens... frustrating!!