PDA

View Full Version : help understanding lane conditions

trizzypballr
03-30-2010, 12:08 AM
I want to start off saying, that I dont feel that I am a bad bowler, but I struggle to make adjustments. Prime example of this is that I bowl at the same house 2 different nights, tuesday and wednesday. On Tuesday im averaging around a 205, on Wednesday around 217. This is obviously a big jump, and to me it seems pretty obvious that considering it is the same house, and same lanes that I have a problem reading the lanes and adjusting. It seems on tuesday nights I really struggle to find my line. The more I try to learn the more questions I come up with. My favorite ball is my Roto Grip Saturn. This ball is getting old, ive been bowling with it for probably 4-5 years. Ive tried quite a few other balls, but this seems to be my favorite. I also have a Virtual Gravity that I throw when the lanes are to wet to throw the saturn I dont feel as comfortable with it though. Ive decided that since I love my Saturn so much that I should consider trying other Roto Grip balls. Looking at their website they have a ball chart. Just for reference this (http://www.rotogrip.com/products/balls/ball-chart/) is what I am talking about. Its pretty obviously what the light, medium and heavy oil mean. What im not sure about is the carry down. From hearing other bowlers talk im assuming that has to do with how much oil is carried down the lane? Exactly how do you actually read this?

I should also include the fact that I am a lefty, so there are nights im all by myself on the left side, if that affects the carry down.

Graaille
03-30-2010, 12:40 AM
First off, Welcome to BB.