PDA

View Full Version : Confused...

rpkwon
06-21-2010, 01:29 AM
I'm relatively new in terms of all the ins and outs (terms, tech, etc.) and trying to get back into bowling but not really satisfied with my technique so I need help...

I bowl with a Ebonite Vortex V2 Strong with a 4th hole and finger tip grip but not getting my desired ball reaction so I'm in search of a new ball. I'm also wanting to change from a "stroker" technique to a "tweener/cranker." Please correct me if I'm wrong but is the ball drilled differently for the different bowling techniques? This is the conclusion I came to 'cause I've read that this ball should give me pretty good hook but I really don't see it.

As of now I stand at the second to the last dot on the right and aim for the arrow furthest right and do get it in the pocket with a stroker delivery. But my ultimate goal is to stand on the second to the last dot on the left using a tweener/cranker delivery to get a more extreme angle into the pocket. Any idea on a ball and how I should request the ball to be drilled?

Taku
06-21-2010, 01:42 AM
I think the whole tweener/stroker/cranker thing is suppose to be how you naturally bowl, i don't think there's a need to change that.

PSBA10
06-21-2010, 11:52 PM
First off, welcome to the boards. We will help all we can. But remember without seeing what you're doing the suggestions are only guesses. Many times they are educated guesses, but guesses never the less.

The first thing I would suggest is to get some lessons with a certified coach. The ball you are using is a very strong ball and if rolled properly should go coast to coast on pretty much any THS (typical house shot).

You asked about how balls are drilled. A stroker will typically have a strong ball drilled as strong as possible, where a cranker with the same ball typically uses a weaker drill pattern so that he can control the ball. The cranker will have a stronger release and have more "Revs" on the ball.