PDA

View Full Version : My Introduction

ffemtreed
07-26-2010, 01:37 PM
Just wanted to say thank you to everyone who provided information on this site. Been lurking for a couple of weeks now soaking in some stuff.

I used to bowl a lot when I was in HS and my first year or two of college. Bowled in a couple of leagues ended up with 215 avg at the end of one. I never had any consistency though. I was never able to adapt to lane changes.

Due to a shoulder injury I had playing hockey in HS, I pretty much learned to bowl with 2 fingers not using the thumb hole at all because I wasn't able to have a back swing. Everything I knew about bowling then was self taught, never did count boards, I always started at the exact same dot on the lane for every shot. Never counted or even paid attention to the steps in my approach.

Now here I am 10 years later from bowling my last game wanting to learn to do it right and get some consistency in my game. I been at it for a couple of weeks bowling my old style and I am just as inconsistent as ever, one week I started out with a 224 then the next game I bowled an 87 then 142.

The past two weeks I been working on my four step approach and my pendulum swing. I can now bowl straight as an arrow and even pick up some 10 pins that was a rare occasion for me back in the day. This week i have an appointment at the pro shop to pick out a ball and get fitted for drilling. Once I get my ball I am going to learn the proper way to hook.

I have no idea which ball I am going to get, but I used someones ebonite mission last week and it worked great with my 2 finger hook. I am just going to let the pro shop person guide me in the right direction. I used to bowl with an ebonite Turbo Resin ball, but I sold it when I stopped bowling. I have been practicing with my old spare ball (plastic) for now, i sure do miss having that Turbo around!

TheBob
07-26-2010, 06:05 PM
Welcome.