PDA

View Full Version : Looking For A New Ball But Need Help

kingdaveiv
11-24-2010, 11:13 PM
Hello everyone I’m new to the forum and pretty excited about the sport of bowling. So far I’ve been bowling once a week for the past four months via college course. My bowling average increased from 100 to 120 and I can consistently bowl straight. As of late I’ve been practicing bowling a hook and found some success with it but for some odd reason I either hook it too much or not enough. After thinking about it for some time and chatting with one of the bowling staff I purchased a Columbia Freeze #15 "reactive ball". I found my bowling experience more pleasant with my ball in comparison to the house balls. My fingers were in heaven, my straight shots were on the mark and I found it easier to hook my ball verses the house ball I was using. However, my hooks still come up to early or to late using the Traditional hook.
I have three different methods of bowling: (I'm Right Handed)
1) Two Finger Back Hook (No Thumb): I use this shot the least because it hurts my middle finger due to the weight of the ball resting on that finger as I release the ball. However I bowled my highest game of 166 using this type of shot.
2) Traditional Straight Ball: Use this shot the most and not a problem. My highest game using this shot was 130.
3) Traditional Hook: Still learning having a difficult time hooking the ball that’s why I use the two finger back hook.
*Note* don’t know the proper name for the "two finger back hook" but when the ball is released it looks as if a lefty hooked the ball.
I was thinking of using this ball as a spare ball and buying another ball that I can use as a primary. But I don’t know of any balls that would hook well for me here are my specs.