PDA

View Full Version : New To Sport And Need Another Ball Before Beginners League

kingdaveiv
12-01-2010, 03:48 PM
Hello everyone both those I met before and that I haven’t...
A little background I’m new to bowling been taking through a college course since the start of September. I started out bowling once a week and now I’m at twice a week off and on.
As some of you may know I recently purchased a new #15 Columbia Freeze bowling ball. I absolutely love my ball and enjoy participating in the sport more because of it. Maybe about a week or two ago an older gent gave me some bowling tips and one of them was to get a lighter ball. At first I didn’t understand why but after watching some YouTube videos on bowling techniques I come to realize my ball is perfect for one technique and too heavy for the other technique.
Technique 1 Straight Wrist: Using the 4 step method (No slide) my first step is to push the ball out. My second step is to allow the momentum of the ball carry me into my backswing to about 45 degrees. My third step is continuing into that backswing to 90 degrees. My final step is the forward swing into my release. This technique I’m ok with because the momentum of the ball do all the work through and through.
Technique 2 Cuffed Wrist: Using the 4 step method (No slide) my first step is to push the ball out. My second step is to allow the momentum of the ball carry me into my backswing to about 45 degrees. My third step is continuing into that backswing to 90 degrees. My final step is the forward swing into my release. However, I can't achieve that 90 degree backswing and when I try automatically lose my balance trying to compensate for the weight of the ball cuffed.