PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another New Ball Question

pedal2themedal
12-02-2010, 10:54 PM
I am somewhat new to bowling and I have decided to upgrade to a new ball, but I have a couple questions.

1. I am looking at a few different balls. They are the Storm Fast, Motive Qz2, Storm Reign, or the Brunswick C System 4.5. All of these except the 4.5 are rated as a medium performance, but the 4.5 is advanced. Does it really matter to a beginner the advancement of the ball? I like the 4.5 the best as I read that it reacts to different lane conditions well, but if I cant throw it that would do no good.

2. I plan on seeking the help of the pro shop- but how do I know what drilling options i should use. I understand rev rate and all, but how do you know what yours is without a good hook ball?

3. I want a ball that has a mean hook, but I also want to be able to bowl with it. Is there another ball that would maybe work better for me as a starter? I don't want to get a true beginners ball just to be limited by it as I only will have enough money for one ball for awhile, besides the spare ball I have now.

oregonbowler
12-03-2010, 01:26 AM
My suggestion is the qz2 its very versital and you can always change the cover to fit what you want the ball to do for you. Consult your pro-shop about drilling options. I only suggest the QZ2 because it is so versital.

Cyrrent Arsenal

Brunswick Fury
Hammer Black Widow Solid
Motiv Recon RX-1
Motiv QZ2
Columbia 300 Ti Messenger Pearl
Storm X-Factor

Stormed1
12-04-2010, 12:33 AM
Being an asymetrical cored ball the 4.5 will be much more sensative to variations in your release. Balls i would recomend are the Roto Grip Dark Star , The Storm Tropical Heat Hybryd, 2 fast or 2 Furious. The reign will be rather flippy on the back end

Richard McCusker
12-05-2010, 01:02 AM
Pedal2theMedal—