PDA

View Full Version : The Hook Ball (link)

Duke Harding
09-27-2008, 10:39 AM
http://www.iass.com/game12.html

onefrombills
09-27-2008, 12:57 PM
this is a great link and I like the other stuff on the home page to.

Baroncad
10-01-2008, 11:33 AM
Thanks for the great find. This will sure help the people learning to hook.

KCBowler
07-09-2009, 03:00 PM
Thank you so much for posting this link. I have been bowling league now for four months and I have always been jealous of those people with the wicked hook. I have probably read 30 forum articles on how to hook the ball as well as a ridiculous muscle memory exercise from bowl4fun.com and this is the first thing that has made sense and worked for me. Within five minutes of getting to the lanes I was throwing hooks for strikes and bowled three of my best and most consistent games as I got more comfortable with the release.

branstew
07-11-2009, 05:33 AM
That`s a good piece. Thanks

Bygnel
07-15-2009, 08:17 AM
Very cool link! I am coaching HS bowling for the first time this year, and this is solid info I can pass along to the younger kids just starting out.. So thanks!

water
07-18-2009, 02:53 PM
"To create a hook, place the thumb so it is pointed at 10 or 11 o'clock or 2 or 1 o'clock for left-handers. A straight up, or 12 o'clock release position of the thumb will create a straight ball. "

Could you explain further?

Graaille
07-18-2009, 03:29 PM
Short answer: if the palm of your hand is the center of a clock, then the thumb will be pointing toward the top of the clock, the fingers pointing toward the bottom of the clock.

Keeping your hand in the "ball" position, a straight ball w/no hook means that the thumb will be pointing directly toward the celing (aka 12 o'clock) with the fingers coming directly up the ball behind the thumb.