PDA

View Full Version : VIRTUAL GRAVITY NANO review by Storm staffer Jeff Richgels

Riggs
03-01-2011, 09:25 PM
Here is the data on the NANO.
http://stormbowling.com/products/balls/virtualgravitynano

The VIRTUAL GRAVITY NANO uses the same early rolling, high revving, pin smashing Shape-Lock HD core as the VIRTUAL GRAVITY but with an entirely new coverstock Storm calls Nano Reactive Genesis.

Storm tech guru Victor Marion filled me in over the phone Monday and what follows are some of the details I am allowed to share. (I spent a decade as a business reporter and did many stories on the numerous high-tech companies in the Madison area so I have a lot of experience translating high-tech to prose understandable for the non-techie – I had to figure out how to do that because I certainly am no techie!)

Marion said instead of taking what was good (an existing Storm cover) and making it a little better, the goal was to create something new and a lot better. He likened it to designing a an entirely new type of plane like the B2 flying wing instead of tweaking an existing plane to make it a little faster.

"Reactive Genesis" is the name for the unique chemistry that likely will be the basis for future Storm balls, with a nanotechnology additive that led to the name NANO. The goal was something that hooks in heavy oil but also hooks off the dry (doesn't blow up) and continues through the pins with less deflection. He called it a springboard effect with the pins.

After speaking to Marion, I now understand the reaction I was seeing with my two NANOs over the last week or so. I threw them on a fairly hooking house shot on newer Brunswick synthetics, the PBA World Championship pattern on newer Brunswick synthetics, the Kegel Beaten Path pattern on old wood, and a fairly difficult unnamed pattern at a tournament on older AMF synthetics.