PDA

View Full Version : Coming back into bowling - looking for a decent all-around ball.

MrEcted
03-07-2011, 12:11 PM
Hey Guys!

I'm just getting back into bowling. I'm looking to get a new ball because my current one is a bit heavy (16 lb) and it starts to screw with my screwed-up wrist so I'm moving to a 15 pounder. Even though it has been years since I bowled with any serious effort, I'd consider myself intermediate. I averaged a little over 180 with my last 10 games bowled (keep in mind, before these games the last time I bowled was at least 6+ years ago...)

When it comes to terminology and such, I'm a complete beginner, so bear with me here -

Right now I'm using a Urethane ball, so far I've only ever used urethane. I don't roll with a ton of revs, typically I just roll a smooth arc into the pocket.

The problem I'm having now is my ball really stinks in heavy oil conditions, by the time it gets any 'grip' it's typically too late. I can only afford one ball right now, so I'm looking for a decent one that would be a good go-to ball for most lane conditions. I know any ball will react differently depending on conditions, I'm just looking for something a bit more forgiving. Also, even though I've only used urethane up to this point, I'm more than happy to switch to reactive, if you believe that will help in the long run.

So, what do you suggest? I'd like to keep the price down (below $120 if I could). I've seen the 'Absolute Inferno' hailed as a great all-around ball, but it looks like those are hard to come by these days, what do you guys recommend?

Thanks!

The Mayor
03-07-2011, 02:37 PM
Take a look at the Storm Reign Supreme. An all-around ball if there ever was one. So versatile and will be quite a step up from your urethane ball.

Stormed1
03-08-2011, 12:08 AM