PDA

View Full Version : My ball has been stored in mini-storage for years, is it safe to use?

tnedator
09-21-2011, 04:17 PM
Hey guys, a newbie here with a question.

I used to bowl regularly, but eventually got sick of going home smelling like smoke so bad I had to leave my clothes in the garage (no offense to smokers, just something my wife didn't like).

Anyway, I stopped bowling in a league probably 8-10 years ago. My ball, I Rhino I believe, has been in mini-storage in Arkansas that whole time. Outside temps typically range from high 20's/low 30's in the winter, and 90's to 105 or so in the summer. There have been a handful of times it's been below the high 20's in the winter. I have no idea how hot or cold it's been in the mini-storage building.

A friend of mine just put a bowling alley in his house, so I am planning to start bowling again. My questions are:

Is it likely the ball was damaged by the heat or cold?

If so, what does the damage do? Since this is a new alley, my biggest concern would be anything that could damage his lanes, like the ball breaking apart of something like that.

I will eventually get a new ball, but since I haven't bowled for so long, I was hoping to get back up to speed with mine. See how he's going to be oiling the lanes, and then get with a pro (a couple hours away for the closes) and get a new ball.

Should I be woried about the damage being so bad that it could damage his lane/ball return equipment in any way?

Also, if it is safe to use, is there anything cleaning/conditioning wise I should do when I pull it out of storage?

Thanks

J Anderson
09-22-2011, 09:21 AM
I doubt if your ball would damage your friend's alley.